What Do You Mean It’s Not My Favourite Anymore

November 29, 2008 at 11:05 pm (Everything Else)

I posted earlier about my newly discovered love of Audiobooks.  I’m still enjoying them very much, but I’ve made a horrifying discovery.  There is a book that I loved to read as a child, which is just dead boring to listen to as an adult.  When did this happen? Why don’t I like it anymore?

The book is Heidi, by Johanna Spyri.  I remember it as a charming story about a little girl living on a mountain who’s sent to a city, get’s homesick, takes her new friend back to the mountian, and everything is happy.  What I’m listening to is an extremely dull story about a child who is too good to be true, living an exceptionally boring life on a mountain (boring to me, she was delighted with all of it) and then being sent to the city.  In the city things don’t get much more entertaining.  So far I’m only a quarter of the way through listening to it, but I’m not sure I’m going to finish.   I think I’m happier remembering Heidi as a book I loved, and leaving it on the shelf, so to speak, at least until I’ve got a little girl of my own to read it to.

This isn’t the first time this has happened to me.  I’m still not sure when I outgrew teen gross-out comedies for example.  But it’s definitely the most devestating.  Beloved childhood items like books should come with a warning “do not read again as an adult, you won’t like it.” (yes, I kow that’s totally impossible, no two people feel the same)  Not because this problem is universal, but because it isn’t.  Little House on the Prairie was awesome when I reread it a year or two ago, so it doen’t happen with all books.  Which makes it even harder to avoid the ones that are so disappointing.

Leave a Reply

