Mamma Mia it’s Movie Time

November 18, 2008 at 9:53 pm (Movies) (, , )

Thanks to the wonders of cheap, on campus, movie theatres that show movies in between theatrical release and dvd release, Sis and I went to see Mamma Mia the other night.  I can’t say that it was a great movie, but I can say that it’s been quite a while since I laughed that hard in a theatre.

Sis and I were pretty much raised on the music of ABBA.  I think at some point my parents got sick of Raffi and other children’s music.  So they decided that ABBA was something they enjoyed, which was relatively child safe, and had a lot of upbeat rhythms that children would enjoy.  As a result, we both know almost every word to every song, and certainly every word of all the really popular ones.

We both had a great time at the movie.  At the start of each major musical number, we were leaning in and singing to one another.  There was even some dancing in our seats.  And a whole lot of laughing.  Especially when Pierce Brosnan started singing.  The movie was very well cast in most other ways, but I really don’t think that his singing voice is good enough for a large role in a musical.  I believe Sis’s words were “why is he singing so funny like that?” before we realized it was just the way he sings.

I’ve seen the stage musical version in the past, and almost my only disappointment with the movie was a few of the numbers from the musical that were left out.  However the more I think about it, the more I can completely understand why they were left out.  Most of the songs removed from the movie were duets, and I supposed a stage musical can spend alot of time with two people standing around singing, however in a movie that would start to get old pretty quick.  So for the most part I can forgive their removal.

The most important thing I can say about this movie is that although I only saw it yesterday, I already want to see it again.  I’m definitely getting this one on DVD.

Leave a Reply

