Crockpot Beef Soup

October 27, 2008 at 7:34 pm (The joy of cooking) (, , , , )

I’ve invented a new tasty soup very loosely based on the Hamburger soup that my mom makes.  There are some major changes, including the fact that it’s made in the crockpot, and the fact that it does not contain barley (the grocery store near me sells four kinds of barley, none of which look like the stuff my mom uses in soup, I gave up in confusion).

The ingredients were all thrown together in the crockpot last night.  I had originally intended to brown the beef and some of the vegetables, to be honest I’m glad I didn’t as the chunks of beef were super tender and fell apart in the mouth much better than they would have if pre-browned, based on my experience.

I used:

  • One can of diced tomatoes
  • Two cups of beef broth
  • Two marinating steaks, cubed
  • Three large peeled potatoes, cubed
  • Two stalks of celery, sliced
  • Two carrots, sliced
  • One can of corn
  • Two cloves of garlic
  • A good dash of Worcestershire sauce
  • Ground black pepper

I put the crockpot on this morning, on low and just let it cook all day.  I came home to perfect beef soup.  It’s almost half way between a soup and a stew. Yum.

Leave a Reply

