Happy Thanksgiving!

October 13, 2008 at 3:36 pm (The joy of cooking) (, , , , , , )

Happy Thanksgiving everyone!  Hubby, my sister and I celebrated Thanksgiving yesterday with a big turkey dinner.  Because we’re halfway across the country from the rest of our family, it was just the three of us, but that didn’t stop me from making enough food to feed an army.

I’ve only made thanksgiving dinner once before, last year.  That was the year I got to transition from person who makes the gravy while Mom does everything else to person who teaches sister to make the gravy while doing everything else.  Among other things it involved about six phon ecalls to either my mother or mother-in-law with questions such as: which way up does the turkey go?

This year, I can proudly say that I did not have to phone home once.  That’s right, I made turkey dinner all by my self.  And I’m more than a little proud of it.  We had an almost 20 pound turkey (yes, there were only 3 of us, we like leftovers) Grandma-style stuffing (bread with a bit of sausage), mashed potatoes, mashed yams, peas and carrots, dinner rolls, corn and the all important blue jello with fruit in it.  For dessert, my sister brought a home made pumpkin pie.

I even did such a good job prepping stuff early in the day, that around four o’clock I had an hour to kill with nothing to do.  The turkey was cooking.  The yams were cooked once, mashed with sugar and waiting to go back in the oven.  The potatoes were peeled and sitting on the stove waiting to be cooked.  The table was set.  And I was going crazy.  I’m not good at waiting, at all.  Hubby had to distract me with video ganes just to get me to stop going in circles.

It was a very successful meal, we are still very full people.  We’ve already dug into the leftovers, with hot open face turkey sandwiches for lunch today.  Hubby’s talking about trying to invent turkey curry for dinner, and I plan to make turkey broth either tonight or tomorrow.  Yum.

Leave a Reply

