Ready, Set, Tidy

August 21, 2008 at 10:18 pm (Family and Friends) (, , )

My parents are coming to town in about a week.  My Mom was here last year when we were just moving in, but hasn’t actually seen our place furnished or fully unpacked.  My Dad has never been here.  They’re also bringing my sister with them, but she’s been here lots, as she goes to the same University we both work/study at.

Now, Hubby and I aren’t slobs, but that hasn’t stopped me from going a little crazy.  I keep making lists of things that need to get done before they come to visit.  Hubby’s likely to be super busy next week before they get here, so I want to get things figured out by the weekend.

The actually cleaning jobs aren’t a big deal, we clean anyways, so that just has to get done like regular.  But there are a few things that need tidying/organizing before my family gets here.  Also, my sister’s mini-fridge is currently serving as a side table in our living room.  While I will be very happy to get rid of it, I’m not exactly sure what I’m doing with our wedding album, which is currently sitting on top of it.

I also spend about half an hour today trying to figure out where the heck I can possibly put an air mattress in this apartment.  Luckily my parents are only sleeping here one night, because the only possible answer is kitchen floor.  And that requires that we move our kitchen table into the living room.  Fortunately we have the world’s most awesome kitchen table, which can be turned into a coffee table, and then squished into the living room.  Although I don’t think anyone will actually be able to get to/from the couch when the table is there.

I’ve also been changing my mind like a maniac about meals.  I’ll have things all planned out, and then I’ll remember that curry isn’t my Mom’s favourite, or some other fact like that.

I’m really excited that my Parent’s are coming.  But a little part of me is starting to understand the mini-frenzy that they used to go into back home when grandparents were coming to visit.  I probably owe them an apology for all the times I thought they were going overboard.  It turns out they weren’t crazy, they were normal (and who ever thinks they’re going to say that about their own parents?).

1 Comment

  1. Mom said,

    I’m oscillating between “please don’t worry, it’s just us” and “I totally understand how you feel”! That’s the awesome thing about being a mother, and watching your daugther (and son-in-law) turn in real grown-ups, and build a life of their own. It’s exciting to watch, but pretty hard to believe, when your baby experiences all the things you’ve been through. We’re proud of you both, and we can’t wait to get there and enjoy your new home, and especially your company! Love Mom and Dad

Leave a Reply

