Biking the Seawall

August 2, 2008 at 6:52 pm (Married Life) (, )

Hubby and I went biking today. I haven’t been on a bike in a good 5 or 6 years at least. And I have to say, I’ve forgotten how much fun it was. I think my problem with bikes in the past has been that I absolutely hate biking in traffic. But today we were biking in Stanley Park, so there wasn’t any car traffic to deal with.

I don’t own a bike, although Hubby does. He loves biking, and has been wanting some one to bike with. I said that if he could find a bike I’d go with him, as long as I didn’t have to ride in traffic. Fortunately for us, there are rental places right outside Stanley Park. So for a measly $20, I had a bike for the afternoon. Hubby brought his own from home, which means that we have now also mastered the art of how to use the bike racks on the front of the buses. This is a big step.

So we rode the entire sea wall. I have to say, for a first bike ride in six year, 11K was probably not the smartest distance to chose. It was totally fun, but I hurt now. My shoulders are a bit sore, my legs are aching. And frankly the seat was not that comfortable.

It was really nice to ride beside the ocean. We could smell the water, and for most of the distance the bike path was separated from the car route around the park. We were near the pedestrians, we went by a couple beaches. There were trees and rocks along the other side, as we were down a hill from the road.

Overall, we had a really good day. We got out in the sun for a bit and got some good exercise. Amazingly it only took a little over an hour to actually do the bike ride around the park. That is, except for the time we stopped while Hubby bought me ice cream. That’s right, for going out on a bike with him, I got Mint Chocolate Chip!

Leave a Reply

