Tuna Sandwiches

July 25, 2008 at 12:13 am (The joy of cooking) (, , )

I was making sandwiches for Hubby and myself for lunch today, and I started thinking about all the different additions you can use to give tuna salad a bit of crunch.

Mostly, I make tuna the way my mom used to do it. Tuna, mayonnaise, celery, and some pepper, on white wonder bread. The only problem is that I often don’t have celery in the house. So I’ve had to come up with some alternatives. A few years ago, one friend showed me her technique, which is to add diced up dill pickles to the mix in place of celery. I’ve also attempted onion, which is good but you need to be very sparing in the amounts; green onion which is quite good; green or red bell peppers which are ok, but peppers aren’t my favourite vegetable; and cucumber which is not bad.

Today, I had to use onion, as it was the only one of those options that I had. It was pretty good, but it sure wasn’t the comfort food of my childhood. I think we need to start keeping celery in the house. At least we had wonder bread.

Leave a Reply

