The Dark Night and Wanted revisted

July 23, 2008 at 10:54 pm (Movies) (, , )

To celebrate Hubby’s return home, we went to see two movies today.  We started with a matinee showing of Wanted, grabbed some dinner at the mall, and the saw an evening showing of The Dark Night.

The Dark Night was really, really good.  As the title suggests, it was very dark.  The Joker, as played by Heath Ledger, was super creepy.  I’ve heard people suggesting that it’s an Oscar worthy performance, and I tend to agree.  His was not the only stellar performance, however.  In fact I think that everyone in the movie acted their parts very well.

The story really worked in this movie.  And wasn’t particularily obvious.  I didn’t tend to see things coming but at the same time they weren’t obscure.  I probably could have guessed most things if I was better at guessing and put a lot of effort in to it.  I was happy to go with the flow and be surprised.

I didn’t really expect to like this movie, I was really only going because Hubby really wanted to see it.  I didn’t care for Batman Begins, so I had no reason to think that this movie would be any different.  But I have to say that I really truly enjoyed The Dark Night, and I highly recommend it.

Wanted I also recommend.  It lived up to a second viewing quite well.  It still felt as intense as it did the first time, however I do think that I originally overestimated how much of the movie was action sequence.  it was definitely much more action than not though.  Hubby seemed to have very much enjoyed both movies.

On another exciting note: one of the previews shown during The Dark Night was for a new Terminator movie.  I LOVE the Terminator movies.  I’m so thrilled there’s going to be another one.  Hubby was actually laughing at me because I was bouncing up and down in my seat.  Overall, we had a fun day, but I’m definitely movied out for the next few days.

Leave a Reply

