Wanted

July 14, 2008 at 8:32 pm (Movies) (, )

I went to see Wanted today. It was quite the experience. It’s been some time since I’ve seen a movie that violent, or that intense.

There was little stop in the action. The movie felt to me like twenty minutes of setup followed by one long action sequence, broken up briefly for a training montage. I know logically that there were a few more non-action scenes, but they were few and far between.

I’ve not probably got Hubby worried, because he wants to see it, and this doesn’t sound like the description of a movie I’d normally like. However, he has nothing to worry about. I really enjoyed the movie, and will happily go again. I’m also recommending it to anyone out there who hasn’t seen it. However, if you have issues with violent movies stay away. You will hate this.

I’m not sure why I liked this movie. It really isn’t my thing. I expected to like it from the previews, but I found the movie much more intense than I thought it would be based on them. I don’t think it’s that these previews were misleading, more that all action movies show action packed previews, regardless of how much or little of the movie is really action.

It is probably partly that I really like the cast in this movie. I’m a big fan of Angelina Jolie, and of Morgan Freeman. I really liked the actor who played the main role as well, although I’m not as familiar with him in general. I also really enjoyed the ending of this movie. I won’t say more than that, but I was very pleased with how it ended. Any other option would not have suited.

Overall, I really loved this movie. And I haven’t had nearly such an edge of my seat experience at the theatre in ages.

Leave a Reply

