Fantasy Novel Speculations

July 13, 2008 at 6:41 am (Books) (, , )

A surge of boredom has led me to finally trying out this blog thing. I blame it on hubby being out of town.

Since life is boring at the moment, I’ve decided to talk about the book I’ve just finished. I’m a grad student, it’s summer, and my supervisor is not on this continent, which means I have an inordinant amount of time available for reading.

Recently Hubby and I recently traded our favourite fantasy novels and we’ve been having an incredible amount of fun listening to each other speculate. Although I may have ruined some of the fun for him by staying up all night and finishing the book in 27 hours, not alot of time to speculate. I however am still having great fun laughing at some of his ridiculous theories, and trying not to gape open mouthed when he gets things right on.

So I gave him “Wizard’s First Rule” by Terry Goodkind. If you haven’t read it and you like fantasy at all, go get a copy right now. Right before I lent it to him, I reread it. Even on a fourth reading that book can still keep me up all night.

He lent me “Mistborn: The Final Empire” by Brandon Sanderson. Also an awesome book. I had alot of fun with Mistborn, and I don’t promise that the next couple paragraphs will be spoiler free, so if you want to read it you may want to stop reading this here. This book is alot of fun.It started quick, slowed for a bit, then had a huge rush of events at the end.

I successfully predicted a few things such as which key character was going to die. I was also dead wrong, and for no apparent reason was incredibly suspicious of one character who never betrayed anybody the whole time.

If you love complex detailed magic systems this book is for you. The allomancy system used is just fantastic. It involves the burning of metals to produce specific powers, thus giving it very defined limits. This makes it fun compared to some novels, as the reader can better understand the character’s limits. Character development is also awesome in this book. The main character goes from a street urchin to the woman who kills a good. From someone who trusts no one, to someone who risks her life for her friends. And she does it believably, which in and of itself is pretty impressive.

If you do decide to read this book, prepare yourself to read all of part five, and likely most of part four as well, in one sitting. The action really takes off at that point, and it becomes impossible to put down. In fact, even after part five it’s hard to stop. I finished this book three days ago and I’m already halfway through the sequel. In fact, I’m going to stop writing this now, and go read some more.

2 Comments

  1. Laura said,

    Perhaps I will give it a go. If you are looking for another fantasy/sci-fi novel to read (or well series), the Temeraire series by Naomi Novik is amazing – I’m on the second book – there are 5 or 6 that she has written so far. Anyway, the first book is based in the Napoleonic War, but the twist is that there are Aerial Corps made of Dragons and their Captains. We are viewing the adventures of a British Captain and his dragon Temeraire. There is a fair bit of Naval warfare excitement too. Definitely a must read. To me it reads as easily as Harry Potter, and that is saying a lot, because Harry Potter is my favourite book series.

  2. The Mistborn Series « Megan Michelle’s Random Rambling said,

    […] December 3, 2008 at 11:21 pm (Books) (Brandon Sanderson, Fantasy) Hubby and I both recently finished reading the Mistborn Series, by Brandon Sanderson.  Hubby declared the third book, The Hero of Ages, to be the best end of a fantasy series he’s ever read.  He then spent the next week or so hounding me to start reading it right now so he could listen to me speculate about how it would end. […]

Leave a Reply

